Japan-Spain: FIFA releases new goal line video from Japan’s World Cup win, confirming that the ball was still in play

FIFA released new goal line footage of Japan’s win over Spain, con­firm­ing the deci­sion that locked Ger­many out of the World Cup.

Mannschaft fans were out­raged by the con­tro­ver­sial decision.

The state­ment read, “The sec­ond goal in Japan’s 2–1 win over Spain was reviewed by VAR to deter­mine if the ball went out of play.

“The video match offi­cial used the goal line cam­era footage to see if the ball was still par­tial­ly on the line.”

He fur­ther stat­ed that “oth­er cam­eras may pro­vide mis­lead­ing images, but on the avail­able evi­dence, the entire ball was not out of play.”

La Roja took the lead with a goal from Alvaro Mora­ta, and since they beat Cos­ta Rica in the oth­er Group E match, they were expect­ed to advance to the last 16 along­side Germany.

But then Japan pulled off a stun­ning come­back, with Rit­su Doan scor­ing a pow­er­ful equalizer.

Tana­ka Ao then put Japan ahead in spec­tac­u­lar fash­ion, turn­ing the score­line and the group around.

The cross in front of the goal appeared to cross the touch­line from some angles, which, if allowed, would have result­ed in a throw-in.

The ref­er­ee ini­tial­ly ruled that the ball was out of play before Tana­ka scored, but VAR cor­rect­ed that decision.

Tech­ni­cal­ly, it showed that the ball remained in play by a few mil­lime­ters until Kaoru Mit­o­ma took it from his team­mate and put it in, but no clear evi­dence has yet been pre­sent­ed as to how that deci­sion was made.

In the video, the ball appears to have been turned up, and few play­ers ques­tioned the ref­er­ee after he ini­tial­ly ruled it invalid.

Japan won 2–1 to top the group. Ger­many, who beat Cos­ta Rica 4–2, was elim­i­nat­ed, and Spain clung to sec­ond place on goal difference.

For the next 24 hours, fans con­tin­ued to debate whether the ball had crossed the line.

The lat­est FIFA pic­ture may con­vince some.

Eng­land fans felt the deci­sion had been 12 years in the making.

In 2010 against Ger­many, Frank Lam­pard’s shot hit the cross­bar and was dis­al­lowed as a goal even though it was well over the goal line.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.