TECH: WhatsApp will no longer show your connection status to strangers.

December 16, 2021, 1:23 pm

The mes­sag­ing app will strength­en its default pri­va­cy options. Only peo­ple in your address book and those with whom you have already chat­ted will be able to know when you last logged in to the app.

What­sApp is rolling out new mea­sures to strength­en your pri­va­cy. The mes­sag­ing appli­ca­tion will indeed change some default set­tings to pre­vent peo­ple who are not saved in your address book or with whom you have not dis­cussed the date and time of your last con­nec­tion on WhatsApp.

Until now, the app allowed any­one to know about your last online pres­ence. This infor­ma­tion, along with oth­er infor­ma­tion con­fig­ured by default to be acces­si­ble to every­one, allowed strangers to spy on you with­out your knowledge.

What­sApp decid­ed to change this set­ting to pre­vent cer­tain third-par­ty appli­ca­tions from keep­ing the con­nec­tion his­to­ry of cer­tain con­tacts. Mali­cious users have obvi­ous­ly used these appli­ca­tions ded­i­cat­ed to this task to “stalk” oth­er users of instant messaging.

Until this option is deployed to all users, you can man­u­al­ly change your pri­va­cy set­tings to lim­it the vis­i­bil­i­ty of your last online pres­ence on What­sApp. To do this, you will need to go to Set­tings> Account> Pri­va­cy and switch the Seen to option to My contacts.Zone con­tenant les pièces jointes

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*